2nd waterfall – 2nd to none

When I started taking part in the weekly photo challenge I decided to limit myself to 2 posts a week, one being the weekly photo challenge and the other a predominant written post in my native language Afrikaans.  However I went hiking last Saturday and it turned out to be an amazing well uh narrow… day.  We hiked to 2nd waterfall – in the Jonkershoek Nature Reserve outside Stellenbosch (South Africa). To get to the waterfall you hike up a narrow gorge through the river fed by the waterfall via various rock scrambles.

Once through the gorge it opens up into a cathedral consisting of amazing rock walls an exquisite blue roof and a massive organ playing beautiful thundering rushing music. A rainbow was formed in front of our feet promising hope to all – and no it is not gold or bitcoins at the end of this narrow rainbow  but something much more precious to humans, plants and animals: life giving water. It was a 2nd to none experience which inspired me to place this post.

DSC_0129b

DSC_0085b DSCN8342 DSCN8347

The first 2 photos were taken with my Sony mobile phone and the last 2 with my Nikon camera.  The last photo was taken in a “forest” of Proteas with Second waterfall now a very thin line. This photo is especially for an expat South African staying in Ireland AJ Vosse. While Ireland is certainly beautiful this is a different beautiful.

 My other post on Narrow posted before the hike: a narrative in majestic narrowness

23 thoughts on “2nd waterfall – 2nd to none

      1. Nou vertel jy my. Ek het die voorreg om Ge te ontmoer toe hy in Potties opgetree het. Die VLU het hom genooi en ons moes die hele konsert organiseer. Baie nederige mens gewees. Nou dink ek sommer nog verder aan Randell Wicomb wat netso n fantasiese mens was.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Sjoe…sluk-sluk…ongelooflik mooi Abrie!Ongelukkig kan ek nie jou laaste foto sien nie..ek dink die fout lê by wordpress.Die reënboogfoto is pragtig.Ek sal nou mooi moet dink om jou op hierdie inskrywing te troef!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Klink na ‘n lekker uitstappie en jou foto’s is wenners. Ek is net spyt oor die 2 per week ketting wat jy om jou eie nek hang. Dit beteken jy beperk jou lesers ook en dis tog so onregverdig.

    Like

  3. Ja nee kyk! Dis speciaal! Vele dank en tussen die proteas sal ek wiln sit en kyk na daai reënboog!

    Dankie vir die pos en fotos… en dankie vir die noem! Ek wardeer jou idee en pos! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Ek waardeer jou bydrae/ Please add to the conversation

