Surprised by a League of Extraordinary Gentlemen

Ann-Christine of the esteemed Lens-artist quartet is pondering the uncertainties and surprises the current situation has brought us and ask us to do the same.

I have been in a state of surprise due to all the thunderbolts which came my way during and because of lockdown. Not in my wildest dreams I would have predicted that not one, but two Superheroes would come and liven up my solitary dreary existence. unlike me, they were very serious and focused but that doesn’t matter; Batman and Iron Man was in my home visiting me!! Iron Man did physically iron that shirt and others (for James Bond apparently)??

Batman and Iron Man in my humble abode!!

And they were not the only famous ones to visit. Unfortunately I wasn’t present (out buying essentials) when Shrek stumbled in, but my daughter made a video to proof he was here.

In fact I was working (focusing like Batman and Iron Man taught me how) and she interrupted me with the words “pappa kyk gou op” (daddy look up, daddy look up quickly). She was smiling and giggling and I was certainly surprised went I received the video… It is an app on her phone which turns you into an ogre, but hey I took it in my stride – like Shrek, I am layered like an onion.

In South Africa shavers were also on lockdown… If it wasn’t for the current situation, working from home, I would not have grown a beard. But I must admit I never expected that every time I look into a mirror I would get the eerie surprise of inviting Sean Connery into my home…

I admit, I used this image to lighten up a somber post titled Mourning, about a colleague who was the first Covid19 casualty in South Africa, but here I surprise you with this extraordinary gentleman again.

Miaau and Abrie – brothers in arms

On my lap is the world’s most intelligent cat Miaau (Meow in Afrikaans) – the only cat in the world which can say his own name. In the header is a photo of Miaau in his prime. Aged 19, Miaau is now a graceful geriatric. We have bonded during lockdown. When I sit down on a couch Miaau climbs onto my lap despite other available laps. In fact he is sleeping on the table next to me while I am writing this post. Maybe it is the grey in my beard which makes the association more natural. Despite the spectacular awe-inspiring visits by Batman, Iron Man, Shrek and James Bond I am sure it will come as no surprise to you when I declare, that the one breathing softly on the table next to me, is the most precious and extraordinary gentlemen of them all.

♥♥♥

Surprise us with love at daybreak; then we’ll skip and dance all the day long.

Psalm 90:14 Message translation.

42 thoughts on “Surprised by a League of Extraordinary Gentlemen

  1. Dankie vir die smaail op my daail. Jy kan my superhero wees totdat die Skim terugkom. Ek moet byvoeg – ek is nie ‘n bewonderaar van baarde nie, maar joune verleen aan jou ‘n baie gedistingeerde voorkoms. Saluut Sean Connery!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ek het die Skim as klein dogtertjie ontmoet en daardie tyd het Rapport nog nie bestaan nie. Ek wonder of dit in Die Burger was? Dis die enigste koerant waarvan ek kan onthou wat my pa ooit gekoop het. Ons kinders het ons heerlik ingeleef in fantasieverhale saam met die Skim.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Such distinguished gentlemen! And all of them in your own home! I love your post, Abrie – and I have always loved Sean Connery. So…my vote must go to Miaau/Meow, in order not to be unfair. I do love cats, and in your header I can see his true colours. A great friend, happy you two bonded (!)so hard!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well, Abrie. I’m happy to say I knew you before your rise to stardom. 😊😊. Has fame gone to your head?? Even Miaau is treating you like a hero. I hope you still remember us common folk. 😊😊 Seriously, your post gave me a much needed smile. Thank you, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. These super heroes and stars only came to visit me so they can be seen mixing with the proletariat. It is despite my common people tag no because of the tag they did me the favour to come and visit. But I certainly told them about the esteemed lens-artist quartet and they were very impressed I knew you! they said they have been trying to get an interview with one of you for years now…

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Do appreciate your words, but as it remarked to Patti: These super heroes and stars only came to visit me so they can be seen mixing with the proletariat. It is despite my common people tag, no because of the tag they did me the favour to come and visit. But I certainly told them about the esteemed lens-artist quartet and they were very impressed I knew you! they said they have been trying to get an interview with one of you for years now…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Batman and Iron Man, Shrek stumbled in, Sean Connery … You have been busy, Abrie. You are layered like an onion, surprise. 🙂
    Thank you for bringing smile to me this morning, much needed. 🙂
    Have a wonderful week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Amy but as I remarked to Tina and Patti: These super heroes and stars only came to visit me so they can be seen mixing with the proletariat. It is despite my common people tag, no because of the tag they did me the favour to come and visit. But I certainly told them about the esteemed lens-artist quartet and they were very impressed! They said they have been trying to get an interview with one of you for years now…

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Het nooit gedink ek salnin Afrikaans met my hero Schrek praat nie…en dit nogal oor sy gentle kat( moet vur niemand sê nie maar ek is n blunde Schrek fan!!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha ha ek het gelees blonde fan 🙂
      Ja die eerste Shrek film was vir my puik nie soseer die laaste 2 nie. En toe Shrek sy hy lae soos ‘n ui wou die donkie weet hoekom nie ‘n koek nie want koeke het ook lae en almal het hou van koeke. Shrek het besef dit is sinneloos om verder te redeneer.

      Like

Ek waardeer jou bydrae/ Please add to the conversation

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.